Potting Tomato Seedlings On and more..

Today I took my tomato seedlings in to the greenhouse to pot them on.  Potting on is what you need to do when your seedlings have grown too big for their initial cell/pot.  I chose 12 of the best seedlings and discarded the others, apart from two, which I have left in the greenhouse as an experiment to see if it is warm enough to put the rest of them out there.

My tomato seedlings are now nice and snug in some 3 inch pots of their own.  I only handled the seedlings by the leaves, I did not touch the stems, as that can damage the root system and stem.  The tomato seedlings were then brought back into the kitchen to keep warm.  You should not try to harden off plants on the same day as potting on, so I’ve heard!

I also took a look around the greenhouse to see what was happening.  And there was not much happening to be honest!  I moved my lettuce and coriander into my new mini greenhouse (which is now living inside my proper greenhouse) to give them some extra warmth.  I got the mini greenhouse as a mother’s day present from my little ones.

I then put a cloched hoop tunnel over my remaining seed trays (broccoli, cabbage, broad beans, garlic and leeks), and then put a cloche cover on top of that!  So they have two layers for warmth now.  Once some seedlings start to come through I will then decide whether to remove one layer.

So that’s it, an update on my garden.  All going to plan so far.  My hot peppers have started to come through, and so have my cucumbers.  My normal peppers have not come through at all yet! These are all living in my kitchen until it warms up a bit.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

